Author Topic: Hardware Issue Perhapse?  (Read 1793 times)

rkivz

• View Profile
Hardware Issue Perhapse?
« on: April 28, 2012, 12:56:27 AM »
Let Me First Say That iCam Is Probably The Best Thing To Ever Happen To Me. I've Been Running It For Almost 2 Years Now And Though There Have Been A Few Bumps Along The Way, This Forum Has ALWAYS Helped Me Through Them.
 That Being Said, I Am Having A Small Issue. I Run 4 Logitech Webcams 24 Hours A Day, All With Different Degrees Of Motion Record On A Windows 7 PC. Once Or Twice A Week, Around The Same Time Of Day, One Of The Cameras (The Same Camera Every Time) Will Freeze. A Software Restart Doesn't Do The Trick But A System Reboot Will Get It Back Running And Then Everything Will Be Fine For The Next Few Days. All 4 Cameras Are Connected With USB Repeater Extension Cables And Like I Said, Work Wonderfully 99% Of The Time. My Question Would Be To Anyone Having This Same Experience, Does This Sound Like A Hardware Issue ie: Replace The Camera That Keeps Freezing Or Is It Maybe The PC (Which Was Built Less Then A Year Ago). I Run iCam Source 2.2.3 If That Helps Anyone. Thank You For Any Help That Can Be Provided.
Ryan

rjgvt

• View Profile
Re: Hardware Issue Perhapse?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 05:56:50 AM »
You could try swapping the cam that freezes with one of the other cams. Basically, swap the USB ports to see if it is the cam or computer port.

I run 6 cams (mix of web and IP) on two XP computers and the Icamsource program will stop when Windows notifies of an update. I finally turned off the updates and check for updates manually at my convenience, not theirs!

rkivz

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2012, 01:52:31 AM »