Author Topic: iCamSource 2.0 BETA  (Read 47192 times)

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« on: July 05, 2010, 12:53:07 PM »
The next major version of the iCamSource is now available: iCamSource 2.0 BETA

Major new features include:

- The ability to connect to multiple (up to 16) webcams or IP cameras from a single instance of the iCamSource. (No more making copies of the application or writing batch files if you have more than one camera.)
- The ability to adjust the compression of the video stream to favor better-quality video or a higher frame-rate.
- The ability to reduce the frequency that the motion detection processing is performed or even completely disable it to reduce the overall CPU usage on older hardware.
- The ability to schedule when the recording of motion events and the sending of push notifications are enabled.
- Router auto-configuration that allows most UPnP or NAT-PMP enabled routers to automatically forward the necessary ports when needed.

The Mac OS X version (10.4.11 or later) can be downloaded here: http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource2.0.dmg

The Windows version can be downloaded here: http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSetup2.0.exe

Please reply to this forum post if you have any issues or discover anything that isn't working as expected. We had to re-arrange a lot of the underlying structure to support multiple cameras within the iCamSource, so hopefully we were able to do so without introducing any new issues. :)

EDIT - The latest version (2.0.1 BETA) includes some minor bug fixes: http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource2.0.1.dmg
EDIT #2 - The latest version (2.0.2 BETA) includes some additional bug fixes: http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource2.0.2.dmg
EDIT #3 - The latest version (2.0.3 BETA) includes some additional bug fixes: http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource2.0.3.dmg
EDIT #4 -  The Windows version (2.0 BETA) is now available: http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSetup2.0.exe
EDIT #5 - This BETA testing round has ended with the release of version 2.1 of the iCamSource. Many thanks to all of the BETA testers. :)
« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 07:22:55 PM by Stefan »

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2010, 04:15:16 PM »
I installed the new version but am getting "No Sources Found" on both WiFi and 3G.

I double checked the username and password, but no luck. This didn't happen with the previous version...

EDIT: This only happens when "Auto-Config Router" is checked. It's too bad, because I hadn't been able to get iCam working over 3G, and I though this might make it work. I'm using an AirPort Extreme.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2010, 05:11:37 PM by Samz2 »

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2010, 08:46:37 PM »
That is odd that checking Auto-Config Router would cause a No Sources Found error message.

What is the status message that appears above the Auto-Config Router checkbox when you click the Start button?

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2010, 10:11:01 AM »
There is no status message.

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2010, 03:50:32 PM »
Does the same thing happen with the latest version, 2.0.1 ?

http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource2.0.1.dmg

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2010, 05:00:49 PM »
Still the same with 2.0.1 I'm afraid.

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2010, 10:35:52 PM »
That is strange that the Auto-Config Router checkbox would cause that issue. Does your webcam's preview video still appear in the iCamSource Preferences window when it is checked?

If you try this different BETA version (1.4.2.6) that is basically 1.4.2.5 with the Auto-Config Router logic added in, do you still experience the same issue when the checkbox is checked? - http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource1.4.2.6.dmg

If so, then it may be an issue with your router ... That the iCamSource is getting hung up for some reason trying to auto-configure it, and the remaining initialization is never happening. When you select your AirPort Extreme router in your computer's AirPort Utility program, how is it described? Is it a "AirPort Extreme (Simultaneous Dual-Band)" (which are the newest ones) or maybe an "AirPort Extreme with 802.11n (Gigabit Ethernet)" (which is the previous generation), or is it even older?

If you click the Manual Setup on the router and then choose the "Internet" button followed by the "NAT" tab is the "Enable NAT Port Mapping Protocol" checkbox checked?

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2010, 05:31:27 PM »
That is strange that the Auto-Config Router checkbox would cause that issue. Does your webcam's preview video still appear in the iCamSource Preferences window when it is checked?

If you try this different BETA version (1.4.2.6) that is basically 1.4.2.5 with the Auto-Config Router logic added in, do you still experience the same issue when the checkbox is checked? - http://skjm.com/icam/iCamSource1.4.2.6.dmg

If so, then it may be an issue with your router ... That the iCamSource is getting hung up for some reason trying to auto-configure it, and the remaining initialization is never happening. When you select your AirPort Extreme router in your computer's AirPort Utility program, how is it described? Is it a "AirPort Extreme (Simultaneous Dual-Band)" (which are the newest ones) or maybe an "AirPort Extreme with 802.11n (Gigabit Ethernet)" (which is the previous generation), or is it even older?

If you click the Manual Setup on the router and then choose the "Internet" button followed by the "NAT" tab is the "Enable NAT Port Mapping Protocol" checkbox checked?

When it's checked, the video preview still appears.

1.4.2.6 still experiences the same problem.

I have an "AirPort Extreme with 802.11n (Fast Ethernet)"

The NAT Port Mapping Protocol box is checked, but when I try to update the router settings, I get the error: "The DCHP range you have entered conflicts with the WAN IP Address of your Airport Wireless Device." The DCHP beginning address is 192.168.0.200 and the ending address is 192.168.0.250
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 05:34:46 PM by Samz2 »

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2010, 09:38:02 PM »
The DHCP range conflicts with the WAN IP? That's odd.  ???

Is your router's Internet > Internet Connection > Connection Sharing setting set to "Share a public IP address" ?

Is your router's Internet > TCP/IP > IP Address (that will be your WAN IP) the same as what is reported by http://whatismyipaddress.com ? Or is it a 192.168.x.x or 10.x.x.x IP?

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2010, 11:02:48 AM »
The DHCP range conflicts with the WAN IP? That's odd.  ???

Is your router's Internet > Internet Connection > Connection Sharing setting set to "Share a public IP address" ?

Is your router's Internet > TCP/IP > IP Address (that will be your WAN IP) the same as what is reported by http://whatismyipaddress.com ? Or is it a 192.168.x.x or 10.x.x.x IP?

The Connection Sharing is set to "Off (Bridge Mode)" Should I change this?

The WAN IP does not match the one on the site. The one in the utility is a 192.168.... and the one on the site is 99.225.xxx.xx

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2010, 03:22:28 PM »
If that is the case (it being in Bridge mode) then whatever the AirPort Extreme is connected to, be it another router or a modem / router combination, is actually acting as the router on your network.

What is the make and model of the device that the AirPort is connected to?

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2010, 05:00:44 PM »
It's a Dlink Wired Router, DI 604UP

I tried port forwarding manually from it, but I'm not sure which IP to enter into the "Private IP" box.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2010, 05:53:47 PM by Samz2 »

Samz2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2010, 07:01:41 PM »
Okay, I've re-wired the system, completely removing the D-Link router, and it works perfectly. When I check the Auto-Config box, it says NAT-PMP Success 12000 --> 12000, and iCam now works over 3G without manual port forwarding.

Thanks!

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2191
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2010, 09:33:15 PM »
Excellent news!  :)

OUAnthony

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource 2.0 BETA
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2010, 11:22:53 PM »
Windows beta soon? :)