Author Topic: iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 Released for Mac OS X  (Read 1613 times)

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 Released for Mac OS X
« on: March 01, 2016, 07:10:02 PM »
iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 has been released today for Mac OS X that includes a fix for the El Capitan webcam freezing video issue discussed here: http://skjm.com/forum/index.php?topic=6479.0

The new version of the iCamSource Pro can be downloaded here: http://skjm.com/icampro/iCamSourcePro1.1.1.dmg

As always, if anyone has any questions, issues, or comments about the new version, please let us know.

Thank you! :)

bobafetts3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 Released for Mac OS X
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2016, 01:33:13 PM »
So my icam pro software told me of the update this morning, it downloaded and installed, but didn't relaunch.

I relaunched the software and I'm getting a, "This application "ICamSource Pro" can't be opened." error message.

I tried redownloading it directly from your page, and get the same problem.  Any suggestions on what else I should try?

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 Released for Mac OS X
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2016, 08:07:51 AM »
We experienced something similar on one of our test Macs where it wouldn't run the exact same application that all of the other Macs ran without issue, and for some reason these steps seemed to fix it:

1. Delete the iCamSource Pro from the Applications folder.
2. Download the iCamSource Pro dmg file from our site, open the dmg, and copy the iCamSource Pro.app to the Desktop instead of Applications.
3. Run the iCamSource Pro that is on the Desktop. (You will be prompted to confirm that you want to run an app that you downloaded from the Internet, but other than that it should launch as expected.)
4. Quit the iCamSource Pro, and move the app to the Applications folder.
5. Launch the iCamSource Pro from the Applications folder, which should now work without issue.

 ???

Hope that helps!

If you are still having problems, please let us know what the error message says and we can troubleshoot things further.

So my icam pro software told me of the update this morning, it downloaded and installed, but didn't relaunch.

I relaunched the software and I'm getting a, "This application "ICamSource Pro" can't be opened." error message.

I tried redownloading it directly from your page, and get the same problem.  Any suggestions on what else I should try?

Jutdees

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 Released for Mac OS X
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2016, 10:26:20 PM »
I am getting a box that says
You can't open the application "iCamSource Pro" because PowerPC applications are no longer supported.
 I tried deleted the application and following the directions above. No luck.

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
Re: iCamSource Pro 1.1.1 Released for Mac OS X
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2016, 08:58:52 AM »
I am getting a box that says
You can't open the application "iCamSource Pro" because PowerPC applications are no longer supported.
 I tried deleted the application and following the directions above. No luck.

This appears to be an issue with El Capitan, because the app is most definitely not a PowerPC application. :o

After some Googling around it looks like other apps (like Spotify) have the issue with some users:

https://community.spotify.com/t5/Help-Desktop-Mac/Spotify-1-0-8-on-El-Capitan-detected-as-a-PowerPC-app/td-p/1163184
https://tinyapps.org/blog/mac/201510230700_el_capitan_powerpc_error.html
http://support.beamer-app.com/12386-Beamer-3/i-m-seeing-the-error-powerpc-applications-are-no-longer-supported

If you delete the iCamSource Pro application and then download and copy the app to your Desktop (or any folder other than Applications) does it run from there? That seems to be the temporary solution that other users have come up with as well. Hopefully Apple will fix this in their next OS X update for El Capitan.