Author Topic: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro  (Read 4104 times)

BluRaySRT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« on: June 17, 2014, 11:23:42 AM »
The iCamSource Pro application will not load on my Windows 7 computer.  The icon appears in the system tray but disappears when you mouse over it.   I have downloaded the app to three different Windows 7 computers with the same results.

I have already tried:
1. Rebooting after download and install
2. Changing the compatibility setting of the application
3. Disabling firewall and anti-virus
4. Turning off all startup items and running in diagnotic mode
5. Running as Administrator
6. Trying to repair the installed app
7. Reloading the app and re-installing

Any suggestions?

Is this a new release?


EDIT BY ADMIN:  There’s a new version of iCamSource Pro (version 1.0.2) available that should resolve this problem. 

You can get the new version here: http://skjm.com/icampro/support.php

Please let us know if you have any problem with the new version.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 04:09:28 PM by Jay »

SKJM Support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1917
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 02:35:40 PM »
BluRaySRT is receiving support via email.

Jay

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1094
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 10:55:26 AM »
If you're experiencing this problem with the Windows version of iCamSource, there's a few steps you can take to help us track down the problem.

First, check to make sure Windows is fully updated on your computer.

Next, install the two prerequisites that must be installed in order for iCamSource to run properly, the Visual Studio Redistributable Package(vcredist_x86.exe) and the .Net framework.

.NET 4 : http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
vcredist : http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

If those steps don’t resolve the problem, there is a test version of iCamSource Pro you can try.  The test version will collect information about the crash, which you can then send to us.

The test version of iCamSource Pro is available here: http://skjm.com/icampro/WiniCamSourceTest.exe

Download the test version to the Desktop or any folder you want and launch it.  This version will crash as well, since none of the iCam logic has been changed, but it will create a crash log that you can send back to us.

The crash log can be found by opening Windows Explorer and typing “%localappdata%” in the top location bar (without the quotes).  That will open the AppData folder on your computer.  There should be a folder in the AppData folder called “iCamSourcePro” with a text file called “iCamSourceCrashLog.txt”.  Please email that file to us at support@skjm.com

Jay

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1094
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2014, 04:07:12 PM »
There’s a new version of iCamSource Pro (version 1.0.2) available that should resolve this problem. 

You can get the new version here: http://skjm.com/icampro/support.php

Please let us know if you have any problem with the new version.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 04:08:58 PM by Jay »

nigels0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2014, 04:24:46 PM »
I get the same thing more or less on my Mac Pro - as soon as it starts, it crashes.

belindaballard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2014, 04:10:28 AM »
I am also unable to start icam Pro source on my iMac - using Mavericks and a new-ish Mac. 
Icam source still works???

SKJM Support

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1917
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Start iCamSource Pro
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2014, 06:21:30 PM »
I would suggest closing the iCamSource Pro application and then deleting your com.skjm.icamsourcepro.plist file in your Library/Preferences folder in your home folder. Then, when you re-start the iCamSource Pro, you will be starting with a fresh set of preferences, and hopefully things will act as expected.

If you are running Lion+ it hides the ~/Library directory for some reason. You can get to that directory by running Finder and then holding the Option key while clicking on the "Go" menu at the top of the screen. If you’re holding down the Option key, "Library" will be one of the choices available. You should choose Library, then open the Preferences folder. The plist file will be in there.

Please reboot your computer after you have deleted the .plist file (to clear our the cached plist settings).