Author Topic: how to connect to another webcam?  (Read 4584 times)

chasg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
how to connect to another webcam?
« on: December 09, 2008, 10:50:19 AM »
Hi,

Nice app :-)

I haven't figured out to connect to a second computer's camera. I've got iCamSource running on two machines (macs on the same LAN, with unique usernames). I can connect to both, but only one at a time (if I use iCam on the phone to Login to the other machine, that's machine's video replaces the first machine's video stream, rather than showing up in its own video window). I'd really like to have feeds from both machines at the same time.

I'm sure that it's such a simple function that I've totally missed how to implement it (I used to design UIs, so I understand the frustration of the developer with dumb@ss users, apologies!). May I suggest a way to reorder which video stream appears in which window? (I only have two machines, but I'm betting that you'll get users running more than 4, and it'd be good to have a way to choose which window drops an unneeded connection for a new one).

By the way, I too am having no luck connecting outside of my LAN, hoping for a fix with 1.0.2.

Chas

edit: managed to get it to connect via EDGE, started working when I restarted my router :-)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2008, 10:56:49 AM by chasg »

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2014
    • View Profile
Re: how to connect to another webcam?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2008, 11:10:49 AM »
Quote
(macs on the same LAN, with unique usernames)

In the immortal words of Adam Savage: Well there's your problem! :)

In order to connect to more than one iCamSource you need to use the same login and password on each of them. That is the way the iCam Broker Server identifies which iCamSources to return to the iCam when it connects.

And there's no need to apologize.  ;D

Thanks for the great question and feedback!

chasg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: how to connect to another webcam?
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2008, 02:38:47 PM »
Ahh, too easy! (and now that I know, your setup info makes perfect sense).

Alright, now I'm going to suggest you allow users to be able to log in to webcams that have _different_ usernames (just more versatile, there's going to be lots of times where people are going to want to do that, I'm sure). Yeah, I know you're deep into version one and bugfixes, just something to consider for version 2 :-)

Thanks for the rapid, and very helpful, reply!

Chas

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2014
    • View Profile
Re: how to connect to another webcam?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2008, 02:41:27 PM »
Chas - You are most welcome, and thank you for the feedback and suggestions!  :)

chasg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: how to connect to another webcam?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2008, 02:54:37 PM »
Anytime!

I can really see this one being very popular, keep it up!

Chas

Stefan

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2014
    • View Profile
Re: how to connect to another webcam?
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2008, 12:44:40 AM »
Thanks!  8)