SKJM Forum

Support => iCam Support => Beta Testing => Topic started by: Stefan on March 11, 2010, 12:31:12 PM

Title: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 11, 2010, 12:31:12 PM
Here is a link that goes through the steps of installing the Ad Hoc Distribution iCam Beta builds onto your beta testing iPhone and iPod touch devices:

http://www.mobdis.com/technical/iphone/installing-an-ad-hoc-distribution/

Some other links that go through the same steps:

http://www.innerfence.com/howto/install-iphone-application-ad-hoc-distribution
http://forum.voxilla.com/rf-support-forum/install-ad-hoc-distribution-iphone-ipod-touch-application-33448.html

Once we have received everyone's UDID we will make the mobile provisioning file as well as the iCam and iCamSource beta downloads available.

If anyone has any problems installing the beta builds of iCam onto their devices, you can either contact us directly or reply in this thread to this forum post.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: aen333 on March 12, 2010, 02:08:31 PM
The Beta is working perfectly on 3 of my 4 computers. Although it does not work on my old xp laptop.  The source runs as though it is working but it never shows up on my iPhone. It is the correct username and password, I have checked many times.  It will have an error every couple times I restart the software.

ps: I appear to be recieving some push notifications but I still can't see anything on my phone.

Pss: I was able to view it once imediatly after a push notifacation where icam automatically opens and it automatically zooms in on the camera that sent it. Although it did that a few seconds after the other 2 cameras already loaded. After I reloaded the cameras it did not come back.

Last ps: it appears to be working though quite a bit slower to start and update than the other cameras. It does have a very low iwifi connection but it has worked quite well in the past.      

Last pss: it does not work over 3g
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: g0sbv on March 12, 2010, 03:12:36 PM
The beta runs fine on my vista and vista 64 computers works fine on wifi good audio and video on phone but no connection on phone over 3g using with or without ports forwarded although push alerts work in all tests
Ricky
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: aen333 on March 12, 2010, 03:32:39 PM
The active movie window issue that I used to experience appeared to have been resolved with the last update but it is now back
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 12, 2010, 04:57:14 PM
aen333 - Did the previous version run on your XP computer? If you have any firewall or security software, is it "allowing" the iCamSource to communicate with the Internet? Are you having problems connecting via WiFi, 3G, or both? Have you confirmed that you are running the Beta iCamSource on your XP machine and not the previous 1.4.1 version?

If you could e-mail support@skjm.com the IP address returned by http://whatismyipaddress.com/ as well as the internal IP address of your XP machine then I can attempt to look it up in the Broker Server logs and hopefully further troubleshoot the problem.

- - -

g0sbv / Ricky - Have you unchecked the Port Range checkbox in the iCamSource? If you could also send me your external IP address as reported by http://whatismyipaddress.com/ I can see if I can determine what the issue is.

You previously able to connect with ports forwarded in your router with the non-beta versions, correct?

- - -

Thanks again for the great feedback, guys. :)
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: aen333 on March 12, 2010, 06:11:50 PM
I think there is an unrelated problem with the computer. it is very old and though icam did work well before it is over all extremely slow even when it has a strong connection. 
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 13, 2010, 11:21:55 AM
There is a fair amount of image processing that takes place on the iCamSource to detect motion for the Record on Motion and Push on Motion events, so it does definitely run better on more recent computers. When users are able to connect to the other computers on the same network it is either that the computer is connecting to another router performing DHCP on the same LAN or there is firewall / security software blocking things on that particular machine.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: aen333 on March 13, 2010, 12:47:18 PM
The xp is now completely dead and won't start. Problem solved in a way. :(
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: digitalfx on March 15, 2010, 04:20:46 PM
No problems so far except for an icamsource crash today.  Here is the info from the event.

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          3/15/2010 11:46:18 AM
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      XXXXXXX
Description:
Faulting application name: iCamSource.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4b9a7cfe
Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll, version: 9.0.30729.4926, time stamp: 0x4a1743c1
Exception code: 0xc0000417
Fault offset: 0x0006c955
Faulting process id: 0x1678
Faulting application start time: 0x01cac2e3eef19aee
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\iCamSource\iCamSource.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_508ed732bcbc0e5a\MSVCR90.dll
Report Id: e4e5532b-3049-11df-b441-005056c00008
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-03-15T15:46:18.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>7997</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>XXXXXXX</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>iCamSource.exe</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>4b9a7cfe</Data>
    <Data>MSVCR90.dll</Data>
    <Data>9.0.30729.4926</Data>
    <Data>4a1743c1</Data>
    <Data>c0000417</Data>
    <Data>0006c955</Data>
    <Data>1678</Data>
    <Data>01cac2e3eef19aee</Data>
    <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\iCamSource\iCamSource.exe</Data>
    <Data>C:\Windows\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_508ed732bcbc0e5a\MSVCR90.dll</Data>
    <Data>e4e5532b-3049-11df-b441-005056c00008</Data>
  </EventData>
</Ev
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 15, 2010, 06:26:14 PM
Unfortunately crash logs in Windows are not always that informative ... Do you know if it crashed when you tried to connect, or did it just crash when sitting idle?
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: digitalfx on March 15, 2010, 06:31:58 PM
If I had to guess, I'd say it was around the time I was trying to connect.  I had two instances running and they both crashed at the same moment.

<EDIT>
It is happening on connection.  It crashed again today and I noted the times I connected.  It's not crashing every time and it's only happening on my windows 7 x64 machine.  My x86 machines are unaffected.
</EDIT>

I also found a bug (unrelated to my last post) that appears to be a difference in the motion detection slider between the icamsource and the icam app.  When you adjust it from the icam app on the phone all the way down the slider doesn't move from it's location in icamsource.  The setting is however still set.  If you set it all the way down in the icamsource the slider in the icam app does not go all the way down, only most of the way.  It appears to only be a visual problem.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 16, 2010, 04:56:53 PM
digitalfx - Thank you for the feedback.

Do you know if the non-beta iCamSource also crashed sometimes on your Windows 7 computer?

We are able to re-create the slider GUI issue, thanks. :)
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: digitalfx on March 16, 2010, 05:03:26 PM
I've never had crashing problems before on any of my computers.


EDIT

It appears I was wrong and it's crashing on all three of my windows 7 machines(x86 and x64).  I'm going to load it on my XP box later this week and see if it crashes there too.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 17, 2010, 05:12:01 PM
Thanks for the update.

We've made Beta #2 available, and it connects to the production server, so you could also run production versions of the iCamSource (1.4.1) and connect to it with the beta version (1.3.0.2) of iCam to see if it is that connection that is making it crash.

You can also put iCam 1.3 back on your iPhone and try connecting to the beta version of the iCamSource (1.4.1.2) to see if that makes a difference.

Many thanks for the help! :)
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: g0sbv on March 18, 2010, 01:20:23 PM
New version working fine..
Tested as follows:-
New iCam connecting to New iCamSource over both 3G and WiFi
New iCam connecting to Old iCamSource over both 3G and WiFi
Old iCam connecting to New iCamSource over both 3G and WiFi
push in all tests worked fine also
Nice Job guys..
Ricky
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 18, 2010, 04:05:21 PM
Thanks again for the great feedback, Ricky.

We're currently planning on submitting the next release of iCam to Apple tomorrow.  :)
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: davelive on March 18, 2010, 05:42:07 PM
First beta the only problem was to get the image from both computers over 3G when uploading something else to Internet. I would get the image from OSX but would take at lest 30sec to get the image from Win7. With second beta everything is perfect! No problem with OSX Cam and Win7 cam. Tested in 3G and Wifi with new icam server for mac and windows and beta2 for iphone. Will test the old/new software mix friday. But for now I love the beta2 and the new look with transparency is GOOD!
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 18, 2010, 09:23:24 PM
Thank you for the excellent feedback! :)
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: computir on March 22, 2010, 07:27:42 AM
Beta 2 installed without incident.

Connected to source over Wi-Fi, no problem.

Connected to source over EDGE, no problem.

Program works as expected.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: computir on March 22, 2010, 07:42:16 AM
Just received push notification properly and motion events worked as expected.

Have noted that when iPhone is connected to dock speaker system, output is not directed through speakers and is instead output through the internal iPhone speaker.

Oddly, after removing the iPhone from the dock and reinserting without exiting iCam, the sound was played through the dock speaker.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on March 22, 2010, 11:04:39 AM
computir - Thank you for your excellent feedback. iCam 1.3.1 has been submitted to Apple and is currently In Review, so hopefully it will be available in the App Store sometime this week.

As for the sound issue, we do not specify the output source in iCam, but we can look into that.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: davelive on April 21, 2010, 05:17:58 PM
I'm still with beta 1.3.0.2. How do I update to 1.3.1. I can see it in appstore but it's not updating itself.

Thank's
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Stefan on April 21, 2010, 08:35:24 PM
If you have the ad-hoc build installed on your iPhone simply delete it and re-download iCam from the App Store. If you are using the same iTunes account that you used to originally purchase iCam you will not be charged a second time.
Title: Re: How to Install the iCam Beta onto your iPhone / iPod touch
Post by: Dean on August 18, 2010, 05:45:12 PM
oops! wrong thread.